Trending Music Download & Entertainment News Website

Cristiano Ronaldo to be the first recipient of the newly-named Paolo Rossi Award


Cristiano Ronaldo will be the first player to recieve the ‘Paolo Rossi Award’ after scoring 29 goals for Juventus in Serie A last season.

Italy legend and 1982 Ballon d’Or award winner, Paolo Rossi passed away in December 2020 at the age of 64 in what was a sad day for the football community and fans in the country and around the globe.


Rossi who is widely remembered for his heroics in front of goal which helped Italy to win the 1982 World Cup and for his part in Giovanni Trapattoni’s all-conquering Juventus side in the eighties, remains a true legend of the sport.

Calciomercato confirmed that the Italian Footballers Association (IFA) have officially decided to rename the top Serie A goal-scorer award in honor of the late legend. This means that starting this year the name of the award will officially be the “Paolo Rossi Award”, to honor his status as one of the best forwards of his generation.

The first recipient of the “Paolo Rossi Award” will go to Cristiano Ronaldo as the Portugal icon ended the 2020/21 campaign as Serie A’s highest goalscorer with 29 goals. Despite Juventus’ poor campaign, the 36-year-old was his usual brilliant self in front of goal and therefore he will be officially recognised by the AIC as the first winner of the award.

The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

XclusiveHype © 2022 Frontier Theme